Review: Mixed: My Life in Black and White

Mixed: My Life in Black and White
Mixed: My Life in Black and White by Angela Nissel
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Pros: Comedic timing, insight, Incredible moments

Cons: None (I hope there is a sequel!)

 

“I know preconceived notions don’t die because you marry someone of a different skin tone”. (Page 42 of ” Mixed: My Life in Black and White”)

“I’m a little worried what he’s going to think,” she said to me about a week before she confessed her vanilla sin” (Page 4 of Mixed: My Life in Black and White”)

Mixed: My Life in Black and White” is a comedic gym about the humorous (and sometimes not-so-humorous) exploits of a mixed race woman trying to navigate her identity through a confusing world. Nissel is the daughter of a White man and a self-professed Black Panther who later remarries to a Black man.

Nissel selects key moments from her childhood, high school, and college life to showcase her own insecurities as a person, a woman, and a person of mixed racial heritage. Those personal moments, though, are told in such a unique way that you learn about yourself in the process.

Those moments can include reading a passage from history about slavery, going to church, avoiding a  high school bully, and trying to make friends at a new school.  Nissel takes those everyday (along with some not-so-everyday moments) to teach, inspire, and uplift along with a chuckle.

Definitely a book to read. To me, it’s like “Everybody Hates Chris” mixed “The Wonder Years” or “The Middle”.

Related Links:

Author Twitter Account: https://twitter.com/AngelaNissel

Author Website: http://angelanissel.com/

 

View all my reviews

2 thoughts on “Review: Mixed: My Life in Black and White

Leave a Reply

